As a Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant in Alabama, you must complete 10 continuing education hours every year by September 30th. In addition to your Alabama physical therapy continuing education, you must also complete a 2-hour course in Alabama Jurisprudence on years ending in 0 or 5.
You don’t need to obtain pre-approval of coursework for your yearly quota. Rather, the Alabama Board of Physical Therapy will allow any coursework that is related to the practice of physical therapy.
At a glance:
|Alabama – 10 PT CEU hours every year by September 30th.|
Alabama Physical Therapy CEU Requirements
From the Alabama Physical Therapy Practice Act Website:
“Each license expires on October 1 of the year following its issuance. Annual renewal period is July 1 through September 30 at midnight.
“10 hours of continuing education is required at renewal. License by Endorsement must complete a 2-hour Alabama Jurisprudence continuing education course before first renewal.
“All licensees must complete a 2-hour Alabama Jurisprudence continuing education course every 5 years (2020, 2025, 2030, etc.).”
What CEU Courses are Allowed in Alabama?
You have a lot of freedom in selecting your 10 credits of courses each year. In general, you don’t need to select particular providers or seek pre-approval for your coursework. But you must ensure your continuing education activities meet the General Guidelines established by the board.
Moreover, there are some limits to non-traditional activities, such as research publication or peer review. You may be able to count only 4 hours from these kinds of activities.
Lastly, the two-hour Alabama Jurisprudence course you take every five years must come from a short list of approved providers.
If you’re unsure whether a course or activity qualifies for continuing education, contact the Board.
Can I Use MedBridge in Alabama?
Yes, you can use an online CEU company like MedBridge to complete required CEUs for your Alabama Physical Therapy license renewal. A quick check on the MedBridge website shows hundreds of approved courses for Alabama PT license holders looking to renew their license.
In fact, you can use MedBridge for the next time you need to complete your two-hour Alabama Jurisprudence course. The Alabama Board of Physical Therapy approves the following course precisely for that purpose: “Alabama Physical Therapy Practice Act & Rules, Jurisprudence & Ethics” by Ron Scott.
Whether you’re a PT or a PTA, you can find plenty of eligible courses on MedBridge. Use the MedBridge promo code PTProgress to save 40% on unlimited CEUs.
How much is the renewal fee?
It costs $130 to renew a PT license and $93 to renew a PTA license.
When does my Alabama Physical Therapy license expire?
All Physical Therapy licenses expire on October 1st.
How long does it take to renew a Alabama Physical Therapy license?
For many states, it can take 4-8 weeks to process your request, so start the process early!
Compare Physical Therapy CEUs by State
Take a look at all of the requirements for CEUs based on your state in this comprehensive article.