As a Physical Therapist in Arkansas, you must complete 20 continuing education hours every two years by December 31st of even-numbered years. Physical Therapist Assistants need to complete just 10 hours. Besides the Arkansas physical therapy continuing education, you’ll also need to pass the jurisprudence exam biennially.
At a glance:
|Arkansas – 20 PT CEU hours every 2 years by December 31st of even years.|
***Update July 2021: The continuing education requirement for Arkansas PTs and PTAs has been waived for the December 31st, 2021 renewal. The jurisprudence exam, however, is still required for 2021.
Arkansas Physical Therapy CEU Requirements
From the Arkansas Physical Therapy Practice Act Website:
“CEU = continuing education unit. One unit is defined as 10 contact hours of an accredited course or program. A contact hour is equal to actual time in a seminar or workshop.
“According to the Arkansas Physical Therapy Practice Act, physical therapists must complete, in each biennium, two (2) CEUs and physical therapist assistants are required to complete, in each biennium, one (1) CEU…. A passing score on the jurisprudence exam is part of continuing education.”
What CEU Courses are Allowed in Arkansas?
Although in previous years, the State Board specified that “no more than 50% of continuing education could be taken through online/home study courses,” they have waived the online limit through December 31st, 2022.
So if you’re planning for your 2022 renewal, that means you can start taking all your courses online. However, in order to count towards your CEUs, these online courses must be approved by the Arkansas Board or by an entity which the Board approves.
In addition, each CEU program, course, or activity must be relevant to physical therapy. Acceptable topics include clinic application, management, behavioral science, scientific research, and more.
If you’re unsure whether a course or activity qualifies for continuing education, simply contact the Board.
Can I Use MedBridge in Arkansas?
Yes, you can use an online CEU company like MedBridge Education to complete the CEUs for your Arkansas Physical Therapy license renewal. A quick check on the MedBridge website shows hundreds of courses for Arkansas PTs looking to renew their license.
Whether you’re a PT or a PTA, you can find plenty of eligible courses on MedBridge. They have everything from PT coursework to live, interactive webinars.
Check out Medbridge for your Arkansas 2022 renewal. Now while there’s no restriction to online study, you can meet all your continuing education requirements in one place, for one price.
Use the MedBridge promo code PTProgress to save 40% on unlimited CEUs.
Do I need to submit proof of my completed CEUs?
Every valid CEU provider, including MedBridge, will give you a certificate of completion when you finish a CEU course or activity. The Arkansas Board of Physical Therapy requires that you include this document when reporting your CEUs.
You’ll use this form to report each individual CEU course or activity. Be sure to send in all necessary paperwork within 60 days of completing the course.
How much is the renewal fee?
It costs $70 to renew a PT license and $45 to renew a PTA license. You’ll need to pay an additional $10 fee to take the jurisprudence exam.
When does my Arkansas Physical Therapy license expire?
All Arkansas Physical Therapy licenses expire annually. To keep your license active, you must pay a renewal fee each year by March 1st and finish your continuing education before December 31st of odd-numbered years.
How long does it take to renew a Arkansas Physical Therapy license?
For many states, it can take 4-8 weeks to process your request, so start the process early!
Compare Physical Therapy CEUs by State
How does your state compare? Take a look at all of the state-by-state CEU requirements in this comprehensive article.