To renew your license as a Physical Therapist in Louisiana, you must complete 30 continuing education hours every two years by March 31st in odd- or even-numbered years, depending on your birth year. Physical Therapist Assistants in Louisiana must take 30 continuing education hours every two years as well. The Louisiana Physical Therapy continuing education requirements are listed in detail below.
Louisiana PT License Renewal:
30 CEU hours every 2 years by March 31st in odd or even years based on PT’s birth year.
If you were born in an odd-numbered year, then your license will expire on your birthday in odd years; by the same token, licensees born in even-numbered years will have to renew their licenses in even years.
Louisiana Physical Therapy CEU Requirements
From the Louisiana Physical Therapy Practice Act Website:
“Unless exempted, licensees shall successfully complete, document and report to the board at least 30 hours of board-approved continuing education courses or activities in the biennial renewal period. No carryover of continuing education hours from one renewal period to another shall be allowed. Continuing education will be granted in the reporting period in which the academic coursework, clinical instruction, tool, residency, or fellowship is completed.
“The four types of approved courses or activities and requirement for each are:
1. jurisprudence ― a minimum of two contact hours;
2. ethics or professionalism ― a minimum of two contact hours;
3. clinical/preventive ― a minimum of 18 contact hours, up to six of which may be earned by completion of a board-approved self-assessment tool
4. administrative ― a maximum of eight contact hours may be applied during each renewal period. Additional clinical/preventive hours may be substituted for administrative.”
What CEU Courses are Allowed in Louisiana?
You may take both online and in-person CEU courses, but they must be approved by the board. Search for approved CEU courses using this tool from the board’s website. As of 2021, there is no longer a limit to how many hours can be from online learning.
Louisiana does require a jurisprudence exam, however, which counts as 2 contact hours. You can take this online or in-person. At least 2 more of your contact hours must be from Ethics or Professionalism courses. No more than 8 of your contact hours can apply to administrative courses, such as business or management issues and self-help courses.
Can I Use MedBridge in Louisiana?
Yes, you can use an online CEU company like MedBridge to complete the required contact hours for your Louisiana Physical Therapy license renewal. A quick check on the MedBridge website shows hundreds of approved courses for Louisiana PT license holders looking to renew their license.
Here are a couple courses MedBridge offers that satisfy the Louisiana ethics CEU requirement:
- Professionalism in Practice: Examining Common Ethical Challenges by Ellen R. Strunk
- Ethics in Practice: Resources for PTs and PTAs by Ellen R. Strunk
Use the MedBridge promo code PTProgress to save 40% on unlimited CEUs!
Do I need to submit proof of my CEUs?
Every CEU provider, including MedBridge, should give you a certificate of completion when you finish a CEU course or activity. The Louisiana Board of Physical Therapy does not require this document or any other proof of your CEU completion with your license renewal.
Instead, simply retain the records for at least 4 years after your license renewal period ends. Be sure to store these documents safely in case the board selects you for an audit. The board will audit all licensees who renew in April, as well as a random selection of licensees renewing in February and March.
How much is a Physical Therapy License in Louisiana?
It costs $280 to renew your PT license before April, or $400 to renew “late” in the month of April. Expect to pay an additional $3 processing fee for online renewals.
When does my Louisiana Physical Therapy license expire?
Your Physical Therapy license will expire biennially on May 1st in odd- or even-numbered years based on your birth year. In order to avoid a late fee, renew by March 31st.
How long does it take to renew a Louisiana Physical Therapy license?
For some states, it can take 4-8 weeks to process your request. Louisiana does not provide an average time for renewal, so be sure you start the process early!
Compare CEUs by State
Take a look at all of the requirements for CEUs based on your state in this comprehensive article.