Physical Therapist Assistants in Maryland are to take 20 continuing education hours every two years as well. The Maryland Physical Therapy continuing education requirements are listed in detail below.
Maryland – 30 PT CEUs every 2 years by March 31.
Maryland Physical Therapy CEU Requirements
From the Maryland Physical Therapy Practice Act Website: https://health.maryland.gov/bphte/Pages/education.aspx
Licenses are renewed biennially on an odd-even basis via an on-line system. License numbers ending with an odd-number renew in odd-numbered years. License numbers ending with an even number renew in even-numbered years.
Renewals begin on March 12 for the 2019 renewal. Letters with instructions are sent out the 1st week in March. The instructions will also be available here when the link is up.
The Board must receive your online renewal by May 21st to ensure that your license is mailed back to you before May 31st. Failure to renew your license prior to its expiration date will result in loss of licensure and the right to practice physical therapy/limited physical therapy in Maryland.
Licensees are not required to take courses that are only on the “Approved” list. Please review the regulations.
Licensees must have earned the 3.0 CEUs for a PT, or 2.0 CEUs for a PTA.
1CEU = 10 CE hours (0.1 CEU = 1 CEU hour)
What CEU Courses are Allowed in Maryland?
The Maryland Physical Therapy Association must approve continuing education courses in order to be eligible for license holders to apply such courses towards the 30 CEU requirement. They’ve provided a list of approved courses here. If you are in MD, the CEU course should make it clear that it has been approved by the MD PTA. However, contacting the MD PTA to confirm approval is OK to do if you are unsure of the eligibility. If you are interested in conducting a CEU course in Maryland, you must complete the Maryland Physical Therapy Continuing Education Application.
Yes, you can use an online CEU company like MedBridge to complete required CEUs for your Maryland Physical Therapy license renewal. A quick check on the MedBridge website shows hundreds of approved courses for Maryland PT license holders looking to renew their license.
- Use the MedBridge promo code PTProgress to save 40% on unlimited CEUs
How much is a Physical Therapy License in Maryland?
It costs $226 to renew your PT license and $145 for PTAs.
When does my Maryland Physical Therapy license expire?
You must have a renewed license in order to practice Physical Therapy license after midnight on May 31 of your renewal year.
How long does it take to renew a Maryland Physical Therapy license?
If you file your renewal electronically, the process can be completed in about 7-10 days. If you do it by mail, it can take 3 to 6 weeks to process your request, so be sure to start the process early!
Compare CEUs by State
Take a look at all of the requirements for CEUs based on your state in this comprehensive article.