As a Physical Therapist in Minnesota, you must complete 20 continuing education hours every two years by December 31st. At least 2 of these hours must be in Ethics or Jurisprudence. Physical Therapist Assistants have the same Minnesota Physical Therapy continuing education requirements.
At a glance:
|Minnesota – 20 PT CEU hours every 2 years by December 31st.|
Minnesota Physical Therapy CEU Requirements
From the Minnesota Physical Therapy Practice Act Website:
“Each licensed physical therapist and physical therapist assistant must complete at least 20 contact hours of continuing education credit every two years as a condition of licensure renewal. A minimum of 2 of the 20 hours of continuing education each cycle shall be on professional ethics directly related to the practice of physical therapy.”
What CEU Providers are Allowed in Minnesota?
In order for your continuing education courses to apply to your license renewal, they must meet the standards set by the Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy.
Your courses will be automatically approved by the board if they meet one of the following criteria:
- Planned or sponsored by an accredited university or college, medical school, state or national medical or osteopathic association, or society;
- Planned or sponsored by the American Physical Therapy Association or other national or state physical therapy association;
- Approved by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT).
However, you are not limited to these providers. The Board may also approve CEU courses offered by other entities, so long as they meet the same standards.
If you’re unsure whether a course or activity qualifies for continuing education, contact the Board.
What Kinds of CEU Activities Are Allowed in Minnesota?
There are many ways to complete your Minnesota physical therapy continuing education requirements. Below is a table detailing some general activities as well as their hour limits:
|Activity Category||Examples||Maximum Hours Allowed|
|Coursework||completing academic coursework, a clinical residency or fellowship, or an ABPTS specialty certification; attending a workshop/seminar||18|
|Scholarship||authoring a peer-reviewed book, chapter, or article; preparing and presenting a scientific poster||9|
|Education/Teaching||developing and teaching an academic course or workshop; serving as a guest lecturer or as a mentor for a residency/fellowship||9|
|Self-assessment||completing the FSBPT or APTA self-assessment tools||3|
Can I Use MedBridge in Minnesota?
Yes, you can use an online CEU company like MedBridge Education to complete required CEUs for your Minnesota Physical Therapy license renewal. A quick check on the MedBridge website shows hundreds of approved courses for Minnesota PTs looking to renew their license.
There’s no limit to how many online CEU courses or webinars you can apply to your total 18 allowed. Because MedBridge qualifies as a pre-approved provider, you can complete all 18 hours in one place with peace of mind.
In fact, you can even use MedBridge to complete your Ethics CEUs. One example is the course “Ethics in Physical Therapy” by Sheila Nicholson. Worth 2.5 CEUs, this course will more than satisfy your Ethics requirement.
Whether you’re a PT or PTA, you can find plenty of eligible courses on MedBridge. Use the MedBridge promo code PTProgress to save 40% on unlimited CEUs.
Do I need to submit proof of my completed CEUs?
Every legitimate CEU provider, including MedBridge, will give you a certificate of completion when you finish a CEU course or activity. The Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy does not require that you submit this document or any other proof of your CEU completion with your license renewal.
Instead, you will simply report the CEU information on your application and retain the records for at least 4 years after your license renewal period ends. Be sure to store these documents safely in case you are selected by the board for a continuing competency audit.
How much is the renewal fee?
It costs $60 each year to renew a PT or PTA license.
When does my Minnesota Physical Therapy license expire?
All Physical Therapy licenses expire biennially on December 31st.
How long does it take to renew a Minnesota Physical Therapy license?
For many states, it can take 4-8 weeks to process your request, so start the process early!
Compare Physical Therapy CEUs by State
Take a look at all of the state-specific CEU requirements in this comprehensive article.