As a Physical Therapist in Missouri, you must complete 30 continuing education hours every two years by December 31st of even-numbered years. PTAs have the same requirements for Missouri physical therapy continuing education.
At a glance:
|Missouri – 30 PT CEU hours every 2 years by December 31st in odd years.|
Missouri Physical Therapy CEU Requirements
From the Missouri Physical Therapy Practice Act Website:
“All licensed physical therapists and physical therapist assistants are required to biennially complete thirty hours (30) hours of acceptable continuing education. Hours must be reported to the Advisory Commission each even-numbered year at the time of renewal.”
What CEU Courses are Allowed in Missouri?
The Missouri State Board does not pre-approve continuing education courses or providers. But that doesn’t mean anything goes. It’s your responsibility as the licensee to ensure all your continuing education meets their standards. Otherwise, you might have trouble renewing your license.
To guarantee a smooth renewal, seek courses from legitimate sources. For exaple, the Board automatically approves courses that are sponsored or approved by at least one of the following:
- The American Physical Therapy Association or any of its components
- Any other professional physical therapy state association
- The American Medical Association (AMA)
- The American Osteopathic Association (AOA)
- The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT)
If you’re unsure whether a course or activity will qualify for continuing education, just contact the Board.
Can I Use MedBridge in Missouri?
I recommend the CEU company MedBridge Education – it’s a leading provider of online CEUs and a popular choice for many physical therapists. A quick check on the MedBridge website shows hundreds of approved courses for Missouri PTs looking to renew their license.
Fortunately, the Board does not restrict how many of your 30 CEUs you may take online. You could theoretically complete all your continuing education through MedBridge, for one price, at one place – home!
Whether you’re a PT or a PTA, you can find plenty of eligible courses on MedBridge. Use the MedBridge promo code PTProgress to save 40% on unlimited CEUs.
Do I need to submit proof of my completed CEUs?
Every valid CEU provider, including MedBridge, will give you a certificate of completion when you finish a CEU course or activity. The Missouri State Board does not require this document or any other proof of your CEU completion with your license renewal.
Instead, you will simply report the CEU information on your application and retain the records for at least 4 years after your license renewal period ends. Be sure to store these documents safely in case the board selects you for a continuing competency audit.
Alternatively, you could report your CEUs through aPTitude, a free resource from FSBPT for tracking continuing education activities. If you later undergo an audit, you can simply submit the aPTitude report instead of each certification of completion.
May I carry over any completed CEUs?
No. The Missouri State Board does not permit any CEUs to be carried over to a future renewal period.
How much is the renewal fee?
It costs $50 to renew a PT or PTA license.
When does my Missouri Physical Therapy license expire?
Technically, all Physical Therapy licenses expire on January 31st of odd-numbered years. However, you must complete the continuing education hours before the previous December 31st.
How long does it take to renew a Missouri Physical Therapy license?
For many states, it can take 4-8 weeks to process your request, so start the process early!
Compare Physical Therapy CEUs by State
Take a look at all of the state-specific CEU requirements in this comprehensive article.