Before renewing your license, as a PT or PTA in Washington you must clock at least 200 hours of employment as well as complete a specific amount of continuing education. If you’re a PT, that’s 32 CEU hours, or 24 CEU hours if you’re a PTA. Keep reading for more information on Washington physical therapy continuing education requirements!
At a glance:
|Washington – 32 CEU hours and 200 employment hours every 2 years by the license holder’s birthdate.|
And if you haven’t done so already, you may also need to complete a mandatory one-time, 3-hour course in Suicide Assessment Training, which may apply towards your total CEUs.
Washington Physical Therapy CEU Requirements
From the Washington Physical Therapy Practice Act Website: (WA source)
“To renew a physical therapist license, you must have 32 hours of continuing education and 200 hours of physical therapy employment every two years.
“To renew a physical therapist assistant license, you must have 24 hours of continuing education and 200 hours of physical therapy employment every two years.
“Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants must have completed this requirement by their birth date every two years.”
What CEU Courses are Allowed in Washington?
The Washington Board of Physical Therapy, which oversees license renewals, does not pre-approve continuing education courses or activities. They expect each licensee to report only those continuing education courses that are specifically related to the practice of physical therapy. In order to count towards one’s license renewal, each continuing education course must also specify its goals and objectives.
But you don’t have to take a course to fulfill your 32 or 24 hours. In fact, you can complete continuing education through the following activities:
- Reviewing books or articles
- Preparing or presenting a physical therapy course
- Publishing original research in a peer-reviewed journal
- Attending a science-based conference
- Passing a certification specialty exam
Each of these activities comes with its own requirements in reporting information and hour limits, so be sure to check this link for all the important details.
And if you’re still unsure whether your CEU course or activity qualifies for continuing education, contact the Board at [email protected].
Can I Use MedBridge in Washington?
Absolutely! You can use an online CEU company like MedBridge Education to complete your Washington Physical Therapy continuing education. A quick check on the MedBridge website shows hundreds of approved courses for Washington PTs and PTAs.
Their vast library of online content includes courses in all kinds of topics, from clinical intervention and patient management to ethics and business practice. With MedBridge you can fulfill even your state-specific course requirements, such as the Suicide Assessment Training. Check out the course Suicide Care for Physical and Occupational Therapists by Susan H. Eastgard and Jeffrey Sung, approved for 3.5 hours of Washington CEU credit.
According to the Washington Board of PT, there’s no limit to how many hours of CEU credit you can earn through online coursework, be it a self-paced class or a live, interactive webinar—and MedBridge offers both. With an annual subscription to MedBridge, you’ll enjoy unlimited access to top-notch continuing education all year long. Use the MedBridge promo code PTProgress to save 40%!
Do I need to submit proof of my completed CEUs?
Every legitimate CEU provider, including MedBridge, gives you a certificate of completion when you finish a course. The Washington State Board of Physical Therapy does not require this document with your renewal; instead, they ask that you attest to the completed CEUs on your renewal form.
Meanwhile, retain all CEU documentation—including items such as your certificate, proof of attendance, and course information—for at least four years after your renewal. That way, if you’re selected for a formal audit, you’ll be able to provide proof of your coursework.
If you choose to complete CEU activity outside of traditional coursework, then check this list for any additional reporting requirements.
When does my Washington Physical Therapy license expire?
Your license expires every two years on your birthday (happy birthday!).
How much does it cost to renew a Washington PT license?
Effective June 1, 2023, the renewal fee costs $100 for PTs and $95 for PTAs.
How long does it take to renew a Washington Physical Therapy license?
For many states, it can take 4–8 weeks to process your request, so start the process early!
Compare Physical Therapy CEUs by State
How does your state compare? Take a look at all of the state-by-state CEU requirements in this comprehensive article.