To renew your license as a Physical Therapist in Pennsylvania, you must complete 30 continuing education hours every two years by December 31st in even-numbered years. Physical Therapist Assistants in Pennsylvania must take 30 continuing education hours every two years as well. The Pennsylvania Physical Therapy continuing education requirements are listed in detail below.
At a glance:
Pennsylvania – 30 CEU hours every 2 years by December 31st in even years.
At least 10 of the 30 hours need to be “in appropriate evaluative procedures to treat an individual without a referral.” You will not receive any credit for courses related to office management or building a PT practice.
As part of your biennial renewal, you must also complete 2 hours of an approved course on Ethics or Jurisprudence, and 2 hours on Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting. Both of these would count towards your overall 30 hours.
PTAs must also meet at least 4 hours in emergency management, such as CPR training.
Pennsylvania Physical Therapy Continuing Education Requirements
From the Pennsylvania Physical Therapy Practice Act Website:
“For each license renewal, a licensee shall complete within the immediately preceding two-year period at least 30 hours of continuing physical therapy education as approved by the board. The licensee shall provide the board with evidence of the completion of the continuing education.
“No credit shall be given for any course in office management or practice building.“
What CEU Courses are Allowed in Pennsylvania?
Each continuing education course must be approved by the PPTA—the Pennsylvania chapter of APTA—in order to count towards the 30 CEU requirement. They’ve provided a list of approved courses here. If you are in PA, the CEU course should make it clear that it has been approved by the PPTA. However, it’s ok to contact the board to confirm approval if you are unsure. If you’d like to conduct a CEU course in Pennsylvania, you must complete the Physical Therapy Continuing Education Sponsorship Application.
Can I Use MedBridge in Pennsylvania?
Yes, you can use an online CEU company like MedBridge to complete all the required CEUs for your Pennsylvania Physical Therapy license renewal. A quick check on the MedBridge website shows hundreds of Pennsylvania-approved courses for PTs looking to renew their license.
In fact, you can use MedBridge to complete the required education on Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting in Pennsylvania by Antonia Garcia. This course is worth 3 CEU hours in Pennsylvania, and will single-handedly satisfy the state requirement.
Similarly, the 2-hour course Ethics for Physical and Occupational Therapy Professionals by Ron Scott will satisfy your Ethics and Jurisprudence requirement.
You can find a wide range of courses on MedBridge, covering all manner of topics relevant to PTs. Use the MedBridge promo code PTProgress to save 40% on a year’s access to unlimited CEUs!
How much is a Physical Therapy License in Pennsylvania?
Typically, it costs $90 to renew a PT license or $45 to renew a PTA license. However, in 2022 the PT license renewal fees were waived due to an excess in budget.
When does my Pennsylvania Physical Therapy license expire?
All Physical Therapy licenses expire on December 31st every 2 years.
How long does it take to renew a Pennsylvania Physical Therapy license?
It can take 30–60 days to process your request, so be sure to start the process early!
Do I need malpractice insurance as a Physical Therapist in Pennsylvania?
Yes. As part of licensure, you must maintain professional liability insurance coverage in the minimum amount of $1,000,000 per occurrence or claims made. This coverage could be through your employer’s liability insurance, a self-insurance policy, or a personally-purchased professional liability insurance. Check out the Physical Therapy malpractice insurance article to learn more about this essential coverage.
Compare CEUs by State
Take a look at all of the requirements for CEUs based on your state in this comprehensive article.